Board of Directors

MVIWATA operates in 23 regions /districts (middle level networks) both in Tanzania Mainland and Zanzibar, divided into 9 zones. A zone represents 2-4 geographic regions of Tanzania. Zone 1 includes Zanzibar (Unguja and Pemba), Zone 2 (Morogoro, Pwani, Dar es Salaam), Zone 3 (Kilimanjaro, Tanga),Zone 4 (Arusha, Manyara, Mara), Zone 5 (Singida, Dodoma, Tabora), Zone 6 (Mwanza, Kagera, Shinyanga, Simiyu, Geita), Zone 7 (Mbeya, Rukwa, Katavi, Kigoma), Zone 8 (Iringa, Njombe, Ruvuma), Zone 9 (Mtwara, Lindi).

Board of Directors constituted by 9 elected members. Its main roles are decision making body on behalf of the General Meeting. It is composed members who are elected after every three years by the Annual General Meeting (AGM) which is the highest body in the organisation of MVIWATA.

The prevailing Board of Directors of MVIWATA was elected on 6 December, 2014 at the 19th MVIWATA AGM held in Morogoro. The full list members of MVIWATA Board of Directors who will stay in power up to 2017 are as follows:

Mrs. Veronica Sophu, Chairperson represents zone 7. Mrs. Sophu was among 20 small scale farmers around Tanzania who were elected by the President of the United Republic of Tanzania Hon. Mrisho Jakaya  Kikwete to participate in Constitution Assembly . She has been serving as a board member in the outgoing board for three years.

Mr. Haji Ussi Haji represents zone 1, Vice Chairperson.  Mrs. Esther Mallya, Treasurer represents zone 3. Other members are Mrs. Amina Kazibure, represents zone 9. Mr. Paul Joseph represents zone 4.  Mr. Projestus Ishekanyoro represents zone 6, Mrs. Prisca John represents zone 5 and Mr. Hance Luwanja represents zone 8. Mr. Abdul Gea represents zone 2.  Mr. Stephen A. Ruvuga, Executive Director sits in the Board as a Secretary.

Share This:

Commodity Prices


No publications found

Mviwata on Facebook

Newsletter Subscription

Subscribe to our news & updates